Please take a minute to review and accept our Terms of Use.
Welcome to the PLECS User Forum, where you can ask questions and receive answers from other members of the community.

Many technical questions regarding PLECS are answered on the Technical Solutions page of our website. Tutorial videos, specific application examples, and pre-recorded webinars are available on our YouTube page. Please follow us on LinkedIn for the latest Plexim news.

Equation based reverse conduction and switching losses in synchronous buck converter

0 votes

Hello,

I am new to plecs and I trying to estimate losses of synchronous buck converter using the a mosfet with body diode. The mosfet I have chosen is STL210N4F7AG.

The questions I have are as follows:

1. I am using formula based turn and turnoff loss calculation as manufacturer’s datasheet doesn’t provide turn on and turn off loss energies in their datasheet. Plecs has certain rules regarding voltage and current convention of mosfet with diode, I am getting errors when plecs tries to compute negative switching losses. (which I am ignoring in diagnosis tab)
  2. The manufacturer datasheet provides only +ve voltage and +ve current (1st quadrant characteristics) for mosfet but no -ve current and –ve voltage (3rd quadrant characteristics, which are required by plecs to estimate reverse conduction losses). So plecs throws again negative conduction losses.

I want to know how can I bypass this by not ignoring negative switching and conduction losses (so that they can finally add up to total switching losses at the end)?

asked Dec 14, 2023 by nagellam (12 points)

1 Answer

0 votes

Hello,